Gottaplay Reviews

Gottaplay is unique as it combines a rental site with the ability to trade games with other site members. Instead of signing up for a traditional rental plan, you can choose to trade your games with other players. A membership includes shipping envelopes, postal tracking and GottaPlay’s guarantee to have your games returned. The system it a bit complicated, but this is understandable given that you’re really signed up for two services instead of one.

Additionally, Gottaplay has implemented a social network for its members. Similar to Myspace or Facebook, members can post messages to other gamers, send buddy requests and search for friends within the network.

Like most online game rental sites, Gottaplay does not have late fees, or due dates and offers free two-way shipping. They provides game summaries for most games and do not include reviews or parental control functions.

Perhaps our largest complaint with Gottaplay is their site’s organization. Although they provide a great search feature, you have to be specific, you cannot simply choose to browse through all the games offered on a particular platform.

Unfortunately, Gottaplay’s customer support could use a bit of improvement. Phone support was nothing more than a recording and email support was slower than expected.

Pricing:

1 Game- $12.95
2 Games- $20.95
3 Games- $28.95

Trading plans include:

2 Trades – $4.99
5 Trades – $11.99
Unlimited – $2.99 Per Game (This is a pay as you go feature and is billed $14.95 upfront)

The pricing of Gottaplay is definitely competitive. Just make sure you understand that the “three out at a time” subscription doesn’t offer a free trial and you have to pre-pay for that membership three months at a time. If you’re on a budget, the one-out or two-out plans will definitely be more affordable.

Location: US Only

Shipping Centers: Nine. Connecticut, California, Washington, Arizona, Georgia, Texas, Illinois, Maryland and Colorado. They advertise that 95% of subscribers get games in two to three days.

Free Trial: 10 Days

Game Selection: 4000+ Games. All current generation systems (360, PS3, Wii, DS, PSP) as well as last generation (Game Cube, PS2, XBOX, GBA).

Gottaplay Link

Overall Rating1.641.641.641.641.64
Selection2.092.092.092.092.09
Delivery Time1.821.821.821.821.82
Customer Service11111
Ease Of Use1.361.361.361.361.36
Price2.552.552.552.552.55

11 Customer Reviews of “Gottaplay”

Gottaplay Review by kredhar, September 27, 2008

  • 22222
  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 44444

This company may be OK for the gamer that really wants to use it but for someone that’s just curious and who wants to check it out, STAY AWAY! The free trial was a MESS trying to get it canceled.

Gottaplay Review by black2005, September 27, 2008

  • 33333
  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 11111
  • 22222
  • 44444

There okay as long as you don’t need to talk to anyone and you don’t send your own game back by mistake.

Gottaplay Review by timBur, September 27, 2008

  • 33333
  • 11111
  • 22222
  • 11111
  • 22222
  • 44444

They may be ok for other consoles, but for wii games they blow. I was a bit put off that they posted false information on their shipping centers, and games in stock….seems to me this is a business where trust is important.

Gottaplay Review by Alburt, September 27, 2008

  • 11111
  • 33333
  • 33333
  • 11111
  • 33333
  • 33333

1st game I received didn’t work. 2nd game I never received (now I have to go report it so I don’t get charged for it) If you want to rent games I would recommend going to go to gamefly

Gottaplay Review by Guest, September 27, 2008

  • 11111
  • 33333
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 44444

I started an account with Gottaplay and nothing happened. My account showed all the games I wanted to rent, but nothing happened, it just sat there. Fast service? Plus they don’t have a number where you can speak to someone. You can report a problem with a game, but if you never get a game then what good is it?

Gottaplay Review by MarioMania, September 27, 2008

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111

This is the worst on-line business experience that I have ever had. (other than buying a computer on ebay from a non-company). I ended up renting the games I wanted to play from blockbuster, or I just bought the games. This has been a complete waste of money for me! I would recommend to not use GottaPlay.

Gottaplay Review by SleepyCran, September 27, 2008

  • 22222
  • 33333
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 22222

Started out decent yet not above average. Quickly went down hill for me… I had over 50 titles in the queue and only received 4 titles in the last 7 months with no titles received in the last four months at all in my opinion. Customer service have not yet replied as far as I am aware… I sent 8 emails with nothing but a default answer therefore I do not recommend Gotta Play.com

Gottaplay Review by Michael, September 27, 2008

  • 22222
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 33333

Good Points: The sleeves are nice.

Bad Points: Where do I start? With 28 titles in my queue, I got nothing for six weeks. I send something back, it doesn’t show up for weeks. I’m paying for a service I don’t even use!

General comments: The sleeves are nice. They may have lots of games on their site, but maybe only 1 copy of each? Personally not happy with GottaPlay.com and do not recommend this game rental service.

Gottaplay Review by Samson, December 5, 2008

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111

IF YOU READ THIS, DO NOT SIGN UP FOR GOTTA PLAY. I HAVE NEVER SEEN SUCH BAD SERVICE. FIRST OF ALL, THERE IS ABSOLUTELY NO CUSTOMER SUPPORT. IF YOU CALL THEIR NUMBER, ALL YOU GET IS AN AUTOMATED ANSWERING MACHINE THAT SAYS TO CHECK THEIR WEBSITE. WHEN YOU CHECK THEIR WEBSITE YOU CAN SEND THEM MESSAGES. HOWEVER, THEY DO NOT RESPOND TO YOU. I HAVE EMAILED THEM MORE THAN 5 TIMES, AND NONE OF THEM HAVE BEEN RESPONDED.

MY EXPERIENCE? CHARGED TWO MONTHS OF SUBSCRIPTION AND 50$ FOR A GAME I NEVER RECEIVED. I GOT NOTHING OUT OF THEM, AND THEY TOOK MY MONEY. I REGRET NOT READING THE REVIEWS ONLINE BEFORE SIGNING UP. IF YOU LOOK AT OTHER WEBSITES, THERE ARE LOTS OF OTHERS WHO ARE GETTING RIPPED OFF AS WELL.

THE SHIPPING TIME IS EXTREMELY SLOW TOO. I KNOW BECAUSE I HAVE A FRIEND WHO SIGNED UP RECENTLY AND THEY TOOK 15 DAYS TO SEND ONE GAME. THIS IS RIDICULUS. SOMEONE SHOULD TAKE THEM DOWN…SERIOUSLY. ITS BAD ENOUGH WITH THE NUMBER OF COMPLAINTS.

BOTTOMLINE: AVOID GOTTA PLAY AT ALL COST.

Gottaplay Review by Chris, December 6, 2009

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111

Selection? They have most every game listed I can think of but nothing is availible.

Delivery time? About 5-6 business days per shipment.

Customer service? None. Automated, no replies, to top it off my account got suspended for returning a game they sent to me that was broken and the number supplied to resolve the issue was disconnected.

Ease of use, well the webpage barely works. Once your suspended you cant cancel but they continue to charge your credit card. They charge 50$ randomly for made up reasons. Infact they wrote they credited me 50$ and actually billed me 50$ on one occasion. Also half their game links are busted to look for games in various categories like HOT games and the like.

Price… wow. 113$ spent and I have gotten not ONE working game from this outfit.

BEWARE!!!

Gottaplay Review by Rufus, May 24, 2010

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111

This site will rip you off DO NOT sign up you will regret it.

Write a Review of Gottaplay

Overall Rating
Selection
Delivery Time
Customer Service
Ease Of Use
Price