Game Access Reviews

Game Access is considered the leader in Canadian games rental services, with the best designed site, excellent customer service, and large inventories for all eight major games platforms. They also have two distribution centers t server both sides of the country.

The site functionality is impressive; not just displaying the standard title and synopsis, also publisher, platform, genre, release date, number of players, and ESRB rating. Entries also have screenshots, some third-party reviews, and also customer reviews and 1-5 star ratings.

The site also allows parental controls, so parents can sign their children up and allow them to manage the account, while keeping limits on ESRB rating levels so they play games intended for their age. On many games, you’ll also have an option to purchase the rental copy at a lower price. Their queue page also displays availability of given games with a “Stock Level” bar.

Games Access was founded by two enthusiastic gamers, Karl and Frank, “tired of being at the mercy of video stores and high game prices.” But it has certainly grown since then, now serving all Canada, with representatives and customer service numbers in six cities (Montreal, Quebec, Toronto, Ottawa, Vancouver, Calgary); this is a major plus if you have problems, the only Canadian game rental service with a customer service phone number. They also have email and instant messaging support to aid their customer service. We’ve also heard good things about their staff’s helpful attitude to customer service.

Pricing:

One Game At A Time – $17.95
Two Games At A Time – $24.95
Three Games At A Time – $32.95
Four Games At A Time – $39.95

10% Discount for three month prepaid.
20% Discount for six month prepaid.

Location: Canada Only.

Shipping Centers: Two. Based in Montreal, they also have a distribution center in Vancouver, the only purely game rental service to also serve the West directly.

Free Trial: 10 Day Free Trial.

Game Selection: 6000+ Games. Carries next generation games (360, PS3, Wii, PSP, DS) and some last gen (PS2, XBOX, Game Cube).

Visit Game Access

Try It today for FREE!

Overall Rating3.783.783.783.783.78
Selection4.114.114.114.114.11
Delivery Time3.113.113.113.113.11
Customer Service44444
Ease Of Use4.224.224.224.224.22
Price44444

12 Customer Reviews of “Game Access”

Game Access Review by KarlG, September 27, 2008

  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 44444

So, once I created my account and activated my 10 day trial I immediately picked out the games that I wanted to rent. Hmm, let’s see here… Rachet and Clank for the PS3, Resident Evil: The Umbrella Chronicles for the Wii, Mass Effect for the XBOX 360, and then Alien Syndrome for the Wii. I selected in what order that I wanted them and, my “renting” experience now essentially over for the day, I perused the site a bit. Apparantly you can buy games and hardware and stuff off of the site too- a good feature.

Three days later I had two games in the mail, complete with self-addressed and postage-paid return envelopes. Ratchet and Clank and Resident Evil, the top two of my list. Awesome.

Resident Evil wasn’t working correctly so I called customer service and told them that Resident Evil was wicked scratched and it won’t play on my Wii. Now, this is where I was pleasantly surprised: she apologized to me, told me to mail it back, and then explained that they’d mail me another copy of the game. If they didn’t have another copy they’d mail me another game from my list and mail me a copy as soon as it came back.

Awesome, pretty hard to argue with that eh?

Game Access Review by Shai, January 16, 2009

  • 33333
  • 33333
  • 11111
  • 44444
  • 55555
  • 33333

I was originally on a single game account, made a list of every game I might play which was a big mistake because they inevitably sent me the game I least wanted to play on the absolute bottom of my list. The game took 5 days to arrive from them to Toronto, then 4 days for it to register that I can receive a game again. In the mean time I decided to test the reservation function which also was useless and a big mistake because it just prevented me from receiving any new game by being blocked by my actual preference. So after a week of having no game sent I removed the reservation and nothing was sent on the following day. So I added some more games to the list and was of course sent the title at the absolute bottom of the list.

Next I decided to change to the two game account and use the fast return option. First they couldn’t even find two games to send me in the first week I had it and it seems like I’ll never get a game I want unless I pay extra for a reservation, use a two game account, and leave one game permanently on a reservation which I might wait up to a month for. So I’m looking at ~30 dollars a month to get actually usable service with 16 games currently in my queue, composed of mainstream ps3 games and good rated ps2 games.

Meanwhile I can go to Blockbuster and most likely pick up my top 3 games; I can’t get most of the ps2 games I want to play, however it doesn’t seem like I’d ever really receive them from gameaccess either unless I wanted low rated games that no one wants to play. I wouldn’t recommend this service.

Game Access Review by Chaz, February 18, 2009

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

Canada’s version of Gamefly! This service rocks. I have been a member with game access for over 6 months and I get nothing but top games from my queue. Worth every penny!

Game Access Review by Chaz, February 18, 2009

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

5 star rating.

Game Access Review by Gregory, April 7, 2009

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

I signed up near 6 months a go form a friends recommendation and I have saved close to 500$ to date! If you rent or buy games elsewhere you are losing your money…

The selection is astonishing, they have every single game that releases on PS3 and 360. Games arrive to my door in under 3 days. Disks are always in top condition. Customer support I’ve never tested but I see they offer an IM solution…

Again, save your money, join this service!

Game Access Review by Berry Boy, July 6, 2009

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

Signed up for 2 games out for a month. At 15$ it’s really a steal. To me there is only one online game rental service in Canada and it’s them. Compare all you want, their system, game selection and customer service are way above the rest.

If you’re never tried them you’re really missing out…

Keep going Game Access, you’re the best!

Game Access Review by mgd, January 7, 2010

  • 44444
  • 55555
  • 11111
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

no shipping on sat/sun
game ONLY shipped when they recieve the previous game(MIN 3 day delivery so 1 game takes 3 days to get to you…u send it back takes 3 days for them to recieve it, they send another game which takes 3 days, 6 days pass between games[ONLY COUNTING BUSINESS DAYS NOT SAT/SUN])
if you are an impatient gamer this is not for you, check out the local rental stock
dont let the low prices decieve you, you will be paying for a lot of nothing

Game Access Review by jesse, May 28, 2010

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111

game access is a compleat rip off and shady company. i could get into a long story about what they put me through and what they are trying to do. in a nut shell because i didnt cancle my acct in a timely matter they are sending my info into collections for a missing game that the failed to send and 30 bucks for the next months membeship…. seriously ppl stay away from this same. go to blockbuster and rent a game for 8 bucks and save yourself the headach of dealing with this amature company.

Game Access Review by Clitcommander, December 1, 2010

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

I used to spend a lot on games.Because of game access in the first month alone i saved $200 and went from no plats to 4 plats.The one time i felt like a game was a day late i mentioned it to C/S and she was all over it. Basically said she would make sure i was refunded the time last in transit,but i asked if i could get free fast return on it instead.She was so helpful she gave me 15 free days of fast return for my troubles.The selection is amazing,condition of disks are mint,and even if something went wrong,im sure they will do whatever they can.After 2 weeks of being a member i figured out they offered a bi-annual payment option with a huge discount.I worked out that with my 4 games at ounce,and the savings from bi-annual payment,that i could get fast return for practically free.
Delivery is standard and if it is late its always gonna be Canada posts fault.With fast return they send me a game the moment i press a button and send me the game the same day i sent theirs.Very often i get my game in 3 days.the only thing they could possibly do to improve is get members to write more reviews on games they have rented.It would be nice to get a game every 2 days but Canada post isent capable of that.Now because of game access i have 12 plats and all my friends want to know how.

Game Access Review by Ali from Southern Ontario, January 10, 2011

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

I give game access zero! If the games get lost in the mail they make you 100% liable for them and debit your credit cards…even though they pay for the shipping. If you fight them, they will congure up more charges to make it worth thier while, they are very ill willed and for that alone deserve zero out of 5!!

Game Access Review by TT Dog, March 17, 2011

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

Terrible customer service!!! I live in Bc and called to cancel my membership after the 10 free trial I chose to cancel b/c it took 10 days for the game to arrive in the mail! when I called it was the day before my free trial expired but because I live in Bc the time difference, the office was already closed, so I sent an e-mail then called first thing in the morning, they said they were still going to charge me the 17.95. even thoug I want to cancel my member ship and I will be getting nothing from them in the next month I am tempted to keep the 1 game that I have from them! I would not recommend this company to my enemies Terrible all around!

Game Access Review by Ryan & Sandy, March 21, 2011

  • 11111
  • 44444
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 33333
  • 33333

Consumer Experience March 2011 – Game Access . ca does “bad business” they sent us a game, but we never received it. We called them right away to say “hey where is our game”. 5 months later they are charging us for the game and 2 months of service aka 140 $$$ for nothing! When I called them to deal with it (5 months ago) they said “well we are gonna just send it to collections if you don’t pay” which they did.

They do not track their game in anyway!! and their customer services agents seem to have the attitude of “we have your credit card” so we can charge you for whatever we want – you as the consumer must be lying, even though they don’t track their game so they have no way you it there previously loyal customer of over a year just didn’t get it in the mail!! We canceled our account and ended up paying collections. Do not use this company!!! They can not be trusted.

Write a Review of Game Access

Overall Rating
Selection
Delivery Time
Customer Service
Ease Of Use
Price