Canflix Reviews

Canflix is primarily a movie rental service that also offers a selection of games.  It has all kinds of neat interface options like mini-popups when you point your mouse over a film or game to display information. The  realtime availability indicators are excellent, telling you if an item in stock, rented out or currently on order. They are open to adding new titles if customers suggest them, and their smaller size means more personalized customer service. In fact, feedback on their customer service has been extremly positive even though they don’t have an advertised phone number.

If you want movie and game rentals in Canada, Canflix is probably your best bet.

Pricing:

3 discs: $21.95
4 discs: $24.95
5 discs: $29.95
6 discs: $36.95
8 discs: $49.95
10 discs: $54.95

Location: Canada Only.

Shipping Centers: Two. Calgary and Ontario.

Free Trial: 14 Day Free Trial.

Game Selection: 1000+ Games. Carries next generation games (360, PS3, Wii) and some last gen (PS2, XBOX, Game Cube).

Overall Rating3.883.883.883.883.88
Selection3.483.483.483.483.48
Delivery Time3.723.723.723.723.72
Customer Service3.843.843.843.843.84
Ease Of Use3.843.843.843.843.84
Price3.83.83.83.83.8

26 Customer Reviews of “Canflix”

Canflix Review by PolarB, September 27, 2008

  • 44444
  • 33333
  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 44444

Pretty good selection, and customer service is decent. Turnaround time from the dist. center to Toronto is usually 2-3 days. Bit of a queue for new releases, but that seems to happen at all online rental sites. Has one of the better Blu-Ray selections I’ve seen.

Canflix Review by ABGuy, September 27, 2008

  • 22222
  • 33333
  • 33333
  • 22222
  • 44444
  • 44444

Ask me two months ago and I would have recommended CanFlix.
Right now though I would tell you to stay away. My issue is that I’m not getting my orders! This week for example, it took a full week to get two movies sent to me AND I still have two free slots they haven’t sent out. Plus it’s not a one time thing… it keeps happening! Trying to contact custom support is no help either – they keep making excuses. Yeah they’re friendly… but who cares if they can’t solve my issues? Avoid.

Canflix Review by Moosehead, September 27, 2008

  • 33333
  • 22222
  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 44444

I just cancelled my subscription with Canflix. They have a good interface and since its hard to find HDDVDs at rental stores it was good to have that option where available. However, they just don’t have enough copies of new releases. I had a list of around 30 movies and would consistently get the ones at the bottom of the list. Those were usually movies I hadn’t seen for a long time and put on the list more as a back up plan. The result was I ended up getting all the old movies and none of the new ones. If you’re looking for fast turnaround of new titles you may want to try elsewhere.

Canflix Review by Sjuan, September 27, 2008

  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 44444

These guys are great! I signed up 4 weeks ago and I have been very impressed with organized these guys are. They sent out my movies the same day I signed up and they were from the top 10 on my list. I had some questions that I emailed their support team and had an answer the next morning. I’ve never received such a fast response from any of the “other” service providers.

Canflix Review by Kreel, September 27, 2008

  • 22222
  • 22222
  • 11111
  • 33333
  • 33333
  • 33333

It started quite good (selection was kind of poor, but I always managed to find enough movies to watch), but after about 6-7 months went downhill. Shipping time became terrible. In the beginning (first six months) what they shipped on Monday I received Thursday or Friday (in Vancouver BC). Now, what they ship on Monday I receive on (the next) Monday. That is just ridiculous! With that terrible shipping time my membership lost value. I am returning back to ZIP (I left ZIP when caps were introduced). I’ll get more value even with the caps. Quite disappointing

Canflix Review by AmChair, September 27, 2008

  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 55555
  • 44444

So far been very pleased. Very prompt on New releases.

Canflix Review by Ont, September 27, 2008

  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 11111
  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 44444

Very slow shipping times to ON.

Canflix Review by T-Vid, September 27, 2008

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

The best!! especially for video game rentals!! Top notch customer service! highly recommend!

Canflix Review by Lame, September 27, 2008

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 22222
  • 33333
  • 33333
  • 33333

The selection is awful — to that point that it’s useless.

Canflix Review by DuggDig, September 27, 2008

  • 55555
  • 33333
  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 55555
  • 44444

Best interface out of those I tried. They have enough movies that I never ran out of things I wanted in the 2 months I was a member, but their selection is not comparable to Zip. Tip: all of their Criterions have the word “Criterion” in their title, so you can search for them. I got sent a bootleg/questionable DVD once, customer service said they’d pull it if they confirmed it, but it still appears as available on their website (Deep Red).

Canflix Review by Jud, September 27, 2008

  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 44444

There location seemed to have an effect on how long it took for me to get my movies. Slow getting them to me, but they seemed to get them quicker when I returned them??? Not a bad website, a little clumsy but better than most.

Canflix Review by Rox34, September 27, 2008

  • 55555
  • 33333
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 44444

My ratings are Western Canada weighted. As CanFlix is Alberta based I get my DVDs shipped quicker here than those in the East would. I love the Queue based selection & the real time available listings. I know right away if I’m going to get my selection (no little wonder bar to try & guess when it is there) it tells you Available, Available soon, On order. Available means its on its way to you when you choose it, not like Zip’s BS bars. The 1 contact I had with Customer Service was answered correctly & promptly unlike the endless BS confrontational responses I got from Zip (it normally took @ least 3 emails to get the answers from Zip). Selection is growing & the 2 FlixReturn slots open up right away (unlike others that require you to wait x # of returns). For Western Canada renters I highly recommend they give CanFlix a shot.

Canflix Review by Skeeta, September 27, 2008

  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 44444

I’ve only been with them for two weeks, but so far I like what I have. They have a good selection and I get my games promptly even though they are in Calgary and I’m in Ontario.

Canflix Review by Phil, September 27, 2008

  • 33333
  • 33333
  • 33333
  • 44444
  • 11111
  • 11111

OMG what an ugly site. you pick your movies by clicking on pictures. what a waste of space! loading times between pages, because of the pictures, is irritating. (interface = 0) customer service was not bad. they were nice to me and gave me an extension to return my dvds because they understood i am farther away from their shipping location. (CS = 3) this site is ok, but not worth the money. the selection is mediocre and the site is plain terrible. if they hadn’t given me that extension i’d give the site a 1 overall.

Canflix Review by FlixRox, September 27, 2008

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

I can only say good things about Canflix. They are consistently prompt and professional. They seem to actually care about their customers and have repeatedly gone the extra mile for me! I recommend them to everyone!

Canflix Review by Spid, September 27, 2008

  • 33333
  • 11111
  • 33333
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 33333

The site is amateurish at best (navigation is choppy, end up in places that you have to use the back button on your browser to get out of, etc). Getting a hold of CS is almost impossible and response to questions were slow. The video selection is lacking and not up to par with Zip.ca or Rogersvideodirect. the value (like almost all of the online DVD services) is acceptable…I mean the price is for any of these is well below a video store and I don’t even have to get off of my coach ;-)

Canflix Review by Swang, September 27, 2008

  • 44444
  • 33333
  • 33333
  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 44444

They really need to improve on selection. I did not recieve any of my new release selections that I requested. I liked the 2 dvd quick return policy, but it took a while before they processed my orders.

Canflix Review by Savage1876, September 27, 2008

  • 33333
  • 44444
  • 33333
  • 11111
  • 33333
  • 44444

Overall I think that Canflix is a good site. They have a good selection that includes xbox 360 games which is especially great for me. The site is pretty easy to use although I think it would be better improved if they added more search options. Its great that you can list your movies in the order you want them, but unfortunately for me I never seem to get new releases, they just sit there at the top of my list. The one thing I have found surprisingly bad about Canflix is their customer service. I’m surprised by this because everyone seems to say great things about it. But they never return my emails, and they dont have a phone number. In my first month with them I have had a disc go missing(never received it), no postage on a couple of my return envelopes, and incredibly long waits for deliveries. Especially with my returns, it takes about 4 business days for the dvd to get to me, but when I return something it takes about 8-10 business days for it to show up as returned on my account. Hmmmm, scam much. And still they have yet to contact me (I’ve sent 6 emails) reguarding any of these issues. All I got was an email saying they would contact me on a certain day…which of course never happened.

Canflix Review by CounterB, September 27, 2008

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 33333

I have just started using Canflix. Service is amazing…and no CAPS!

Canflix Review by tntmek, September 27, 2008

  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 44444

I have tried several sites and I find Canflix the best by far. I find it the easiest site to use and to find the games I want. They don’t always have the games I am looking for but they have most. And so far those that they did not have, they have loaded for me. Customer service is excellent – I get fast resp.

Canflix Review by Tufr, September 27, 2008

  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 55555

I have been using CanFlix for over 2 months now and I am amazed at how fast the return is. I get my movies on a Monday, watch a few that night and return them the next day. It is not uncommon to get the next batch on Thursday but I have even had some by wednesday. Wow. For this price, I cannot rent this many at any regular rental place and I never have to drive around looking for the movies I want. Point, click, watch. How much easier could it be. The few times I have needed assistance or support were unlike any other support I have ever seen. I simply emailed and informed them of my concern and it was taken care of. No back-and-forth emails or long phone calls. One email… Done!

Canflix Review by Buffy, September 27, 2008

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 44444

Nice and fast in Alberta. Can set the order my games come. Return Envelopes are trickier than VHQ

Canflix Review by CybeGal, September 27, 2008

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

I really like Canflix, I’ll put that out right now. The customer service is excellent . Just like Cinemail, another service I’ve been trying, it is quick and responsive. Both are superior to Zip by far. I’ve rated their interface at 5, but really I would have given it 4.5. I find it very good, but not perfect. It’s clean and fairly consistent. Browsing the site is easy, and they have been adding new functionality that inspires more browsing and finding some interesting titles. Shipping times are excellent to me now. They were spotty before. I noticed they were doing a bunch of stuff with the shipping: changing shipping locations, changing envelopes, stamps vs. lettermail, shipping labels etc. In the span of my 3 months with them, I’ve seen many versions of envelopes. I think they may have nailed it finally. Now I receive my titles in 1 day in Calgary! This is had significant influence of my choice of Canflix over Cinemail. Canflix inventory seems smaller than Cinemail, and Zip. I mostly rent new releases, and Canflix excels here, but occasionally I find some lesser known or popular titles, and they are not always available. Though I do notice that some of them become available over time, and they are open to requests. I asked for Oz, the HBO series, and few days later I received a message from them that it has been added! Oh, and Canflix que list allows ordering of shipping priority, which gives a bit more control over shipment of your titles, unlike Cinemail or Zip. It’s a feature that I personally find useful.
Granted, I’m biased more to the movies, but the games are just a bonus with the service for me.

Canflix Review by DvDgUy, September 27, 2008

  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 33333
  • 55555
  • 33333
  • 33333

This is the best customer support I have ever seen. They were very understanding, went beyond measure to try to regain me as a member after I told them the reason I cancelled. Turnaround isn’t bad, 3-5 business days to Toronto. Although lots of titles are on order but their stock does improve over time so it isn’t just bluff. If you want some popular games Canflix is quite good. If you want unusual/rare titles you may want to check their availabilities first before you join(click on the title and you’ll see Red – “On Order” ~ they don’t have it, “Available Soon” ~ they have it but it’s out, or “Available” ~they have it.)

Canflix Review by Axim, February 22, 2010

  • 11111
  • 22222
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 22222
  • 33333

Brutal service. Delivery times from Calgary to Toronto are sloooow… I’m now using a Vancouver online rental co and they’re much faster delivery. Billing problems are a nightmare – had to do a credit card charge back for a month that I was charged in error. Customer Service response are non-existent… even after several emails (that’s the only contact method listed) asking for refund of the charge in error I didn’t get one reply and so filed a credit card charge back.

AVOID AT ALL COSTS.

Canflix Review by Mark, January 15, 2011

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

Decided to do an initial review of Canflix.com. Signed up with them on Friday afternoon, and received notifiation that discs had shipped on Monday. 5 business days later, still no discs, and I’m in Vancouver which should only be 2-3 days from Calgary.

Needless to say, I won’t be keeping the subcription!

Write a Review of Canflix

Overall Rating
Selection
Delivery Time
Customer Service
Ease Of Use
Price